1.1 **How the Council Operates**

1.1.1 The Council is comprised of 487 Councillors elected every fivefour years or such time as the Welsh Government legislates. Each Councillor is democratically accountable to the residents of their electoral division as well as all of those who live in Denbighshire. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those that did not vote for them.